Costco Stopped me from filling my trailer at the pump!

r3meyer

Reaction score
For years now I have gone to costco to fill up my coach (diesel) and the box trailer (91).  Few weeks ago I took my box trailer down there with my truck to fill up my 55gal drum that is inside and has been for years.  Its mounted and plumbed inside.  I always open my side door, pull up, and get to filling.  So as the thing is filling away here comes a tenant and says you cant fill that and proceeds to shut off my pump!

We start to go at it.  He tells me you cant fill any portable tank over 6 gallons.  I tell him its not portable its secured and plumbed to the trailer.  He says its portable.  Pull out $100 bill and tell him I will give it to him on the spot if he can move it.  He declines and says sorry you cant fill it.  I explain I have been doing the same routine for 5 years this is the first time they have said something.  I tell him I want to talk to a manager.  He said it might be a while.  I let him know I have nothing but time and point to the line behind me.  He accepts and walks off saying he will be back shortly with his manager.  

I get out my card and fire the pump back up.  🙂

Just as I am about 5 gallons away from my 55 they start walking back over so I hit the stop pump button.  Manger proceeds to repeat the same thing.  I ask what the difference is between what I have and what a toy hauler has.  She does not engage and just says that 6 gallons is the max.  I say fine.  Can I just get my 6 gallons and be on my way?  Sure she says.  

I fire the pumps back up and get my last 5 gallons...

So now I either need to build a tank into my trailer (always wanted to do this anyways) or put a Y and filler neck with fuel door on the side of my trailer.  Anyone added a tank to their trailer that fits between the rails?  I would like to get this done while I play the costco fill up game.