Need engine advice

crazytestpilot

Reaction score
Hi, I'm ready to dump my VW engine and go water pumper. Problem is that I am very new to this and haven't got a clue about what engine to use. I am hoping some folks here may have some good ideas.  It would need to be a four cyl. 140hp+ , junkyard cheap and easy to find. I guess it also needs to be on Kennedy engineering's list for adapter plates and of course not super confusing to hook up. Mating to a built bus 6 rib trans-axle.  Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Picture of your car as it sits now might get you a better answer of what would fit your cars frame and suspension.  

I did that same swap with an ecotec and really enjoyed it. I think the cheapest route would be a Honda j35 though. 

I would start with a NA 2.5 Subaru. They are cheap to build and have great reliable power. 
Subie all the way, low center of gravity like the VW, and not that much more weight.  You can pick up motors pretty cheap as well.

I did that same swap with an ecotec and really enjoyed it. I think the cheapest route would be a Honda j35 though. 
As long as he has room.

I've helped a number of guys going from VW to Honda J.  If their engine was still in good running condition, a few of them even came out money ahead when it was all said and done.

1 vote for a Subie. Perfect sized to replace VW, light weight, good power and tons of parts/upgrades later if you want. It used to be around $3500 for the cheapest swap. That would be a JDM motor, get new computer/wire harness, adaptor plate and radiator. You have to do the work to clean-up of the motor. 

Or do it once and do it right.....go to John at Outfront.

Another idea is to sell your car and buy another. You may get other upgrades in addition to the motor. 
The incremental cost between the two cars may be less than the engine swap and requires less work, blood, sweat and tears.