4 lug VW rims for my sand rail

michaelaland

Reaction score
Hi folks, newbie here. I just purchased this sand rail this weekend. My first. So excuse my ignorance. The rear tire has the 4 lug vw rim and paddles which is great but i want to purchase another set of rims and some all terrain tires for hard pack and they have to be narrower in order to fit on my trailer. (16 ft double axle flatbed that is 7.4 ft in-between wheel wells) The front wheels are spindle and need to purchase a spindle to hub conversion and then a set of rims for them as well with the all terrains. I have been looking around on craigslist for used ones and cant find any. I did find some brand new ones that were vw 4 lug steel front rims about 5 inches wide and 15 inch rims for $60. My questions are, about what width do I need for the rears (10inch?) and does the hub for the front just slide right on? I was reading something about King Pin and Link Pin spindles? Thanks in advance for your help. Here's a photo of the buggy and another of the fiasco I went through loading the darn thing on my trailer.

buggy.jpg

buggy on trailer.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
From The Pic the front looks like a link pin, 

not sure if you can take a better picture of the back of the front spindle on the back of the rim, I would run a 8'' on the back and no bigger, 

this will be the easier way for the front with dirt tires 

4235 Spindle Mount Steel Wheel 15 X 4 - fits link pin front end (cbperformance.com)

Spindle Mount Wheel for VW Link Pin Front Beams 15x4 - 1011050 – DuneBuggyWarehouse.com

View attachment 24539

View attachment 24540
J, ok I will take a close up pic tomorrow. So with these two links you sent, your saying just get another spindle rim and put my all terrain on it instead of throwing the hub conversion?